According to Nevada Revised Statute 76.100 a person shall not conduct a business in this state unless and until the person obtains a state business license issues by the secretary of state. The state business license is $200 or $500, depending on the type of business, and is in addition to any other licensing requirements from other state and local jurisdictions.
Exemptions are listed in Nevada Revised Statute 76.020. Any person who claims an exemption must apply for a certificate of exemption issued by the secretary of state.
A “business” means:
Any person who performs a service or engages in a trade for profit; Any entity organized pursuant to Title 7 of the Nevada Revised Statutes, including those required to file with the secretary of state, whether or not the entity performs a service or engages in a business for profit.
This includes sole proprietors, independent contractors, partnerships, domestic corporations, foreign corporations, nonprofit corporations, LLCs, LPs, LLPs, LLLPs, business trusts, and professional entities and associations.
To obtain or renew a state business license online, visit www.nvsilverflume.gov., For additional information visit www.nvsos.gov or contact the secretary of state at 775-684-5708.